May 23, 2012

  • Ah…….

    After completing a half marathon I feel tired and a little let down. What is next? The only answer is a marathon. Really? I can’t believe I ran a half marathon! I really can’t believe I am using the word RUN in my daily activity! I’m not very fast but I am totally thrilled with just being able. I know I am not able to do it or anything else without Christ. If it weren’t for Him I wouldn’t be able to breathe much less walk OR run. Yeah!

     

    I am learning a few things along the way. One is that this life journey (unto the Lord) is not easy;at least not for me. Running has helped me define my walk (or should I say run) a little bit clearer. Running is very much like our journey with God. Both are filled with hardships and disappointments but with these comes the building of strength, perseverance, and  endurance. Injuries and tiredness fills each step forward,but crossing the finish line is the best reward.

    On  my last practice 13.1 before the actual race, I ran most of the way in the grass as to soften the blow to my feet and knees.  It turned out that this grass is home to chiggers. The spiritual application I see here is that I need to stay on the path set before me; no veering to the left or right. Another is that when we try to make our journey a little bit easier it can backfire and actually make it worse! Thank God for the chiggers!

     

    Just as I find it hard to focus on these runs (trust me, running really does take focus); I find it hard to focus on my spiritual run. If I plan on finishing my journey with a “well done” then I really have to focus! I tend to get caught up in the pain, the lack of oxygen, and the length of the run. My run with the Lord is very much the same;the pain in relationships and disappointments, the lack of breath from holding mine when facing a new trial and the length of the trial and journey. I find my mind and its thoughts betraying me. On some runs, I haven’t even made it a mile before my thoughts are screaming “STOP.” As with my run with the Lord, I don’t even get my day started before I am thinking, “I don’t want to”. Of course, the reward in pushing through is how great I feel afterwards. Yes, tired but like a winner; victorious. You push through an the end is always worth it. I find that Paul’s analogy using running as our spiritual journey to be highly appropriate.

     

     Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may obtain it. – 1 Corinthians 9:24

     

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *